>>The five food groups

The five food groups

The five food groups 2018-06-01T16:00:01+00:00

Kids have unique nutritional needs that are different from adults. Not only do kids need a healthy diet to have enough energy to last throughout the day, they also need to have the right vitamins, minerals, protein, carbohydrates and fibre so that they can grow and develop properly.

Children need a variety of nutritious foods like:


The dairy food group is a great source of calcium for strong bones and protein which builds strong muscles. Dairy includes milk, yoghurt and cheese.


The grains food group provides zinc, iron and fibre. Grains include wheat, oats and rice and are found in wholemeal or wholegrain cereals, porridge, bread, pasta and noodles.

Vegetables and legumes

The vegetables food group is the most important source of minerals and vitamins like Vitamin C and magnesium as well as folate and fibre. It’s best to eat lots of different types and colours of vegetables like zucchini, tomatoes, carrots, broccoli, celery, sweet potato, mushrooms as well as legumes like peas, beans, lentils and chickpeas.


The fruit food group delivers lots of vitamins, fibre and potassium which help ward off sickness and colds. Choose lots of different colours to take advantage of lots of different nutrients. Apples, pears, bananas, rockmelon, strawberries, plums, mandarins, grapes and oranges are a good start.

Meat, fish and eggs

This food group delivers lots of protein as well as iron, zinc, B12 and essential fatty acids which helps kids growth healthy muscles. Included in this food group are meats like pork, chicken, lamb, beef, fish as well as eggs, tofu, legumes and beans.